

Electronic Security

H B Wolfe

The Information Science Discussion Paper Series

Number 98/02 March 1998 ISSN 1177-455X

University of Otago

Department of Information Science

The Department of Information Science is one of six departments that make up the Division of Commerce at the University of Otago. The department offers courses of study leading to a major in Information Science within the BCom, BA and BSc degrees. In addition to undergraduate teaching, the department is also strongly involved in postgraduate research programmes leading to MCom, MA, MSc and PhD degrees. Research projects in software engineering and software development, information engineering and database, software metrics, knowledge-based systems, natural language processing, spatial information systems, and information systems security are particularly well supported.

Discussion Paper Series Editors

Every paper appearing in this Series has undergone editorial review within the Department of Information Science. Current members of the Editorial Board are:

Assoc. Professor George Benwell Dr Geoffrey Kennedy Dr Martin Purvis Dr Henry Wolfe Assoc. Professor Nikola Kasabov Dr Stephen MacDonell Professor Philip Sallis

The views expressed in this paper are not necessarily the same as those held by members of the editorial board. The accuracy of the information presented in this paper is the sole responsibility of the authors.

Copyright

Copyright remains with the authors. Permission to copy for research or teaching purposes is granted on the condition that the authors and the Series are given due acknowledgment. Reproduction in any form for purposes other than research or teaching is forbidden unless prior written permission has been obtained from the authors.

Correspondence

This paper represents work to date and may not necessarily form the basis for the authors' final conclusions relating to this topic. It is likely, however, that the paper will appear in some form in a journal or in conference proceedings in the near future. The authors would be pleased to receive correspondence in connection with any of the issues raised in this paper, or for subsequent publication details. Please write directly to the authors at the address provided below. (Details of final journal/conference publication venues for these papers are also provided on the Department's publications web pages: http://divcom.otago.ac.nz:800/COM/INFOSCI/Publctns/home.htm). Any other correspondence concerning the Series should be sent to the DPS Coordinator.

Department of Information Science University of Otago P O Box 56 Dunedin NEW ZEALAND Fax: +64 3 479 8311

email: dps@infoscience.otago.ac.nz

www.http://divcom.otago.ac.nz:800/com/infosci/